Author Topic: Update on an Explorer after 14 months and 145 hours  (Read 2046 times)

Lotus54

• View Profile
Update on an Explorer after 14 months and 145 hours
« on: July 20, 2014, 12:26:01 AM »
Thought I'd put up an update on the bike so far.

Overall, I love it! Fantastic bike for how I use it. Mostly trail riding, best on the hardest trails. Not so hot on really fast trails. It will do it- but really always looking for tight stuff!

Problems/issues

1. Broken chain tensioner spring.
2. Flakey fuel cap
3. Broken wire to speed sensor
4. Broken suspension Link (my fault)
5. Bent rear brake mount (my fault- but I don't like the setup)
6. Crappy stock brake pedal- ditched it for TR pedal- perfect!
7. Failed front wheel bearings at 88 hours (common on my KTM where I ride also)
8. Wore hole in seat before I started riding properly (was gripping with legs)
9. Plugged aftermarket Spark Arrestor (fixed with little mudflap)
10. Stock chain is crap- replaced with DID Narrow, great now.
11. Biggest issue- not enough time to ride!!!

As you can see, all are pretty minimal items or my fault. Things like wheel bearings are disposable around here with all the water and mud.

No failed plastics or broken tabs/mounts. Hard to start twice- both times due to my giving throttle without thinking and an older sparking plug.
Has not lost any coolant, ever. No leaks (except crappy fuel cap)- runs perfectly all the time (except when I plugged the non-stock spark arrestor).
The bike has been a delight- the light weight is fantastic, it is teaching better riding habits and I'm having a blast with it. Never once have I wished I didn't get it,more had gotten something else. My old KTM 300'XCW was fantastic, but I enjoy this much more (except for really fast-'rough stuff).

I'm learning loads on how to ride 'with' the bike, allowing it to do the work. I'm still learning to trust it.